All tools › Localization & translation
DeepL: pricing, free tier and licence
price: verified licence: partial · last checked 2026-10-15 · https://www.deepl.com
Can I sell what it makes? Free tier: not stated. Paid: not stated. Full answer with sources
Machine translation for game text, store pages and patch notes. The Terms say nothing either way about who owns translations; we found no restriction on commercial use of translated text.
| Category | Localization & translation |
|---|---|
| Free tier | DeepL API Developer: free, one-time credit of 1 million characters, 1 API key (no web translator). DeepL Pro: 30-day free trial |
| Paid price (as shown) | API Growth $26/mo billed annually + usage ($27.50 per extra 1M characters; 12M characters/yr included). Translator Pro (Germany, EUR): Individual €7.49/mo billed annually (300,000 characters), Team €24.99/user, Business €49.99/user; Enterprise custom |
| Price note | API prices shown for United States (USD); Translator Pro prices shown for Germany (EUR). Annual billing saves 20% |
| Currency | USD |
| Credits / cost per asset | API: $27.50 per 1,000,000 extra characters on Growth |
| Licence: free tier | DeepL Pro Terms: no clause on ownership of translations found; API Developer plan may not process personal data (s.8.3.11) |
| Licence: paid | Same Terms; paid plans list 'No data training' |
| Export / engine support | CAT tool integration on Growth; MCP access announced for Copilot, ChatGPT and Claude |
| Engine integrations (vendor-stated) | not stated |
| API / MCP access | REST API; MCP announced on the developer pages |
| IP indemnity | No vendor IP indemnity found in the terms; you must indemnify the vendor |
| Affiliate | No affiliate program verified |
Sources
Changelog
- 2026-10-15: Added to index; baseline snapshot of pricing/terms pages taken.
Watch this tool
Get told when DeepL's price, credits, free tier or licence changes. Changes like these go out in the free weekly email (sign up below); or follow this tool in a feed reader with its Atom feed (JSON). No account needed for the feed.
Compare: DeepL vs Crowdin: game localization pricing and translation rights
Machine-readable: Markdown · JSON
FAQ
How much does DeepL cost?
As shown on the vendor's pricing page on 2026-10-15: API Growth $26/mo billed annually + usage ($27.50 per extra 1M characters; 12M characters/yr included). Translator Pro (Germany, EUR): Individual €7.49/mo billed annually (300,000 characters), Team €24.99/user, Business €49.99/user; Enterprise custom. API prices shown for United States (USD); Translator Pro prices shown for Germany (EUR). Annual billing saves 20%.
Does DeepL have a free tier?
DeepL API Developer: free, one-time credit of 1 million characters, 1 API key (no web translator). DeepL Pro: 30-day free trial.
Is DeepL free for commercial use?
Free tier: not stated. Paid plans: not stated. Free-tier licence text: DeepL Pro Terms: no clause on ownership of translations found; API Developer plan may not process personal data (s.8.3.11). Paid: Same Terms; paid plans list 'No data training'.
Does DeepL have an API or MCP server?
REST API; MCP announced on the developer pages.
How many assets do DeepL credits buy?
API: $27.50 per 1,000,000 extra characters on Growth.
More: Best AI localization and translation tools for games · Best tools by use case · Cost calculator · Commercial-use answers for every tool · AI tools you can ship with no attribution · Can I ship it? checker · AI rules by store
Other localization & translation tools
Get the weekly what-changed email
Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.