Compare

Unity AI vs GitHub Copilot: AI coding for Unity, price and output rights

Side-by-side from each vendor's own pricing and terms pages, checked 2026-10-15. Prices shown exactly as displayed (promos and billing period noted).

The licence question first

Unity AIGitHub Copilot
Free tierUnity Personal: 14-day free trial of Unity's AI tools, then a $10/month subscription; 1,000 monthly credit allowance listed for Personal. Unity's MCP server is freeFree: limited chat and agent usage
Paid price (as shown)Personal: $10/month after the 14-day trial; Pro $210/mo per seat (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly AI credits; Enterprise custom, 3,000 creditsPro $10/mo; Pro+ $39/mo; Max $100/mo
Credits / cost per assetCredit cost varies by task and modelnot stated
Licence: free tierUnity AI Guiding Principles: 'You own your input and output data'; training on your content is OFF by defaultGitHub ToS s.J.2: GitHub does not claim ownership of your Input or Output; you must check whether Output needs a third-party/open-source licence
Licence: paidSame; generations carry 'UnityAI' metadata so you can find and remove them before shippingSame (individual plans use ToS s.J; Business/Enterprise use the Generative AI Services Terms)
Export / enginesBuilt into the Unity Editor (Assistant, Generators); Unity's MCP access and CLI listed on PersonalVS Code, JetBrains, CLI (any engine)
Engine integrationsUnity: built into the engine; MCP server: yesMCP server: yes
API / MCPUnity MCP access; AI Gateway on paid plansCopilot CLI, cloud agent
IP indemnityNo vendor IP indemnity found in the terms; you must indemnify the vendorVendor says IP indemnity is not included
Affiliatenot statednot stated

Sources

Get the weekly what-changed email

Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.

Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.