Compare

PixelLab vs Pixel Engine: pixel art animation pricing and licence

Side-by-side from each vendor's own pricing and terms pages, checked 2026-10-15. Prices shown exactly as displayed (promos and billing period noted).

The licence question first

PixelLabPixel Engine
Free tierFree trial: 40 fast generations, then 5 daily slower generations (store up to 20); images up to 200x200Free: $0, 100 credits/month (starter credits)
Paid price (as shown)Tier 1 $12/mo (2,000 gens); Tier 2 $24/mo (5,000); Tier 3 $50/mo (10,000)Plus $12/mo (2,000 credits); Pro $20/mo (4,000); Ultra $60/mo (12,000)
Credits / cost per assetSome tools use more than one generation per imageAnimation 20-26 credits; image generation 6-36 credits; background removal ~2 credits (monthly credits ~200 = $1, purchased ~100 = $1 per API docs)
Licence: free tierCommercial use allowed on free tier ('Use generated images commercially***')Terms (effective Oct 1, 2026): you may use what Pixel Engine generates for any purpose, including in commercial games. Not limited by plan
Licence: paidCommercial use; 'The user owns the rights to the generations with the exception of using them to train models'Same (terms do not differ by plan)
Export / enginesAseprite workflow and Pixelorama-based editor mentioned; engine export not statedunverified
API / MCPAPI access and MCP 'AI Agent Toolkit' (Claude Code, Cursor) listed on free tierHTTP API (/animate, /generate-image) and MCP server
Affiliatenot statednot stated

Sources

Get the weekly what-changed email

Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.

Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.