Best AI tools for pixel art and sprite sheets (2026)
Picks based only on what each vendor's own pricing and terms pages say (checked 2026-10-15): can you ship it, what it costs, and whether your agent can call it. We don't rank by output quality.
Free tier you can ship commercially
PixelLab, SpriteCook, Gamelabs Studio, Retro Diffusion, Scenario, AutoSprite, Pixel Engine
Each vendor allows commercial use of free-tier output: PixelLab pricing page; SpriteCook pricing FAQ and Terms s.6 (free generations appear in its public gallery); Gamelabs Studio pricing page; Retro Diffusion terms; Scenario Terms s.4.3; AutoSprite Terms s.4; Pixel Engine terms ('for any purpose, including in commercial games').
Pixel art animation from an existing sprite
Pixel Engine animates your own pixel art from a prompt: 20-26 credits per animation, 100 free credits a month, Plus $12/mo for 2,000 credits, with an API and MCP server.
Lowest stated price per image, no subscription
Retro Diffusion lists pay-per-generation prices: RD Fast $0.03, RD Plus $0.06 and RD Pro $0.18 per image, from a prepaid balance.
Sprite sheets from a single image
AutoSprite states about 5 credits per sprite sheet (500 credits on Starter covers up to 100). Ludo animates a sprite into a sheet; its free-plan sheets carry a watermark.
Best for agent / MCP workflows
PixelLab, SpriteCook, Retro Diffusion, Gamelabs Studio
PixelLab lists MCP on its free tier; SpriteCook lists API and MCP on all plans; Retro Diffusion offers a hosted MCP server; Gamelabs includes MCP on all monthly plans.
Check before shipping
Free-tier output is not yours to sell: Leonardo's terms vest ownership of free outputs in Leonardo, and Recraft's free-plan images are owned by Recraft.
All tracked options
| Tool | Free tier | Paid price (as shown) | Commercial licence | API / MCP | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PixelLab 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free trial: 40 fast generations, then 5 daily slower generations (store up to 20); images up to 200x200 | Tier 1 $12/mo (2,000 gens); Tier 2 $24/mo (5,000); Tier 3 $50/mo (10,000) | Free: Commercial use allowed on free tier ('Use generated images commercially***') Paid: Commercial use; 'The user owns the rights to the generations with the exception of using them to train models' | API access and MCP 'AI Agent Toolkit' (Claude Code, Cursor) listed on free tier | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Retro Diffusion 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free starting balance for new accounts ('enough for dozens of generations with RD Fast'), no card required | Pay per generation from prepaid balance: RD Pro $0.18/image; RD Plus $0.06/image; RD Fast $0.03/image; animations from $0.07/clip | Free: Terms: outputs (including from free usage) are owned by the person who generated them Paid: Same: outputs owned by the generator | HTTP API and hosted MCP server (homepage) | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| SpriteCook 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: 40 credits every 30 days (about 5 standard 1K images), all generation modes, no card; free generations appear in the public gallery | Starter $8/mo (800 credits); Adventurer $30/mo (3,000); Archmage $70/mo (7,000) | Free: Pricing FAQ: commercial use on every plan including Free; no credit to SpriteCook required Paid: Same; private assets on paid plans; you keep assets if you cancel | API and MCP access on all plans including Free | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Pixel Engine 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: $0, 100 credits/month (starter credits) | Plus $12/mo (2,000 credits); Pro $20/mo (4,000); Ultra $60/mo (12,000) | Free: Terms (effective Oct 1, 2026): you may use what Pixel Engine generates for any purpose, including in commercial games. Not limited by plan Paid: Same (terms do not differ by plan) | HTTP API (/animate, /generate-image) and MCP server | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| AutoSprite 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: 15 monthly credits (up to 3 spritesheets), 2 standard-res unlocks/mo, 3 bonus daily credits | Starter $16/mo ($12 yearly, 500 credits); Pro $39/mo ($29 yearly, 1,500 credits); Enterprise $129/mo ($99 yearly) | Free: Terms s.4 (effective Sep 9, 2026): you own the rights in spritesheets and other outputs generated for you, to the extent permitted by your inputs and third-party materials. Not limited by plan Paid: Same s.4 grant (terms do not differ by plan) | API and MCP on Pro and above | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Gamelabs Studio 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free trial: 20 credits forever, all features | Indie $10/mo (120 credits); Pro $20/mo (250); Studio $50/mo (650); one-time credit bundles also offered | Free: Full commercial rights stated for all generated assets ('No attribution required') Paid: Full commercial rights, no attribution required | Studio + MCP + API access on all monthly plans; works in Cursor/VS Code | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Ludo.ai 2D, pixel art & sprites | 'Start free' offered; free credit amount not shown on pricing page | Indie $15/mo billed annually ($180/yr, 3,000 credits/yr); Pro $35/mo billed annually ($420/yr, 12,000 credits/yr); Studio $300/mo billed annually | Free: Docs FAQ: the person who initiates the generation is the full owner and may use, share or monetize it. Free-plan sprite sheet downloads carry a Ludo watermark Paid: Docs FAQ: you own generated content and may monetize it; watermark removed on any paid plan (retroactively) | API, MCP and CLI on Pro and Studio (not Indie); calls always use credits | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Scenario 2D, pixel art & sprites | 50 free daily credits, no credit card (per pricing page footer) | Starter $15/mo (1,500 credits); Pro $45/mo (5,000); Max $75/mo (10,000); Enterprise custom | Free: Terms s.4.3 (v2.1.1, updated Jul 16, 2026): 'You own your Generated Assets'; Scenario assigns you all right, title and interest, including commercial use. Applies to every plan; the Free Tier is a defined plan (s.3.1) Paid: Same s.4.3 grant; pricing page: 'You own your generated assets. Use them commercially, sell them, modify them' | MCP Server and API Reference linked from site footer | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Leonardo.Ai 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: 150 fast tokens/day, public creations | Essential $12/mo (8,500 tokens); Premium $30/mo (25,000); Ultimate $60/mo (60,000); Teams from $24/seat | Free: Terms 8.7: on free subscriptions, ownership of Outputs vests in Leonardo Paid: Terms 8.3: on paid subscriptions, ownership of Content vests in you | Pay-as-you-go API; API credit doesn't expire | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Recraft 2D, pixel art & sprites | Free: limited credits, 3 generations per style/day; images public | Basic $10/mo billed annually ($120/yr, 1,000 credits); Pro $16/mo billed annually; Teams $18/seat/mo billed annually | Free: Free plan images owned by Recraft, public, not licensed for commercial use Paid: Paid plans: full ownership and commercial rights, kept after cancelling | API billed in API Units | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: verified |
| Layer 2D, pixel art & sprites | not stated | Usage-based Creative Units (CUs); example Small Studio calculator total $60.00/mo; $0 per seat | Free: not stated Paid: Commercial license for all users (pricing page) | API access, webhook access; MCP linked in nav | 2026-10-15 price: verified licence: partial |
Compare cost per asset in the calculator · Commercial-use answers · Ship with no attribution
Get the weekly what-changed email
Price changes, licence changes and new AI game-dev tools, pulled from tracked vendor pages every week. Free.
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.